2014 Michigan QSO Party Plaques


Back to 2014 MiQP Main Page

The following individuals and organizations will receive a 2014 Michigan QSO Party plaque for winning their respective categories.  The remaining top three entries in each category will receive a MiQP Certificate of Accomplishment.  Congratulations to all of the winners!

Plaques and certificates should be going out some time in September 2014.  If you’ve not received your award by October 1, 2014, drop an e-mail to our awards manager Mike, WD8S using the address of his callsign "at" comcast.net.


High Score - Michigan Single Operator - High Power

Sponsor: Hazel Park Amateur Radio Club

Winner: Steve Wuelfing, K8BZ


High Score - Michigan Single Operator - Low Power

Sponsor: Eastern Michigan Amateur Radio Club

Winner: Greg Chapoton, NA8V


High Score - Michigan Single Operator - QRP

Buck Switzer, N8CQA Memorial

Sponsor: Michigan QRP Club

Winner: Station N8M, Operator: Hank Greeb, N8XX


High Score - Michigan Rookie Single Operator

No Entries


High Score - Michigan Multi-Operator, Single-Transmitter

Sponsor: Monroe County Radio Communications Association

Winner: Station K8MQP - Ops: K8CC,  KE8OC, KT8X, W8MJ and WR8W


High Score - Michigan Multi-Operator, Multi-Transmitter

Sponsor: Adrian Amateur Radio Club

Winner: Michigan State University ARC, Station W8SH - Ops: W8EO, WB8LZG, KB8ZGL, KA8IWK, KD8SLH, KD8KYR, UH5KRL, W9WSW and KD8GGA


High Score - Michigan Mobile, Solo-Operator

Insufficient entries (* See note)


High Score - Michigan Mobile, Multi-Operator

Sponsor: Oakland County Amateur Radio Society

Winner: Station K8IR/m - Operators K8IR and KG9GH                         


High Score - Michigan EOC Station

Sponsor: Lansing Amateur Radio Lunch Bunch

Winner: Livonia ARC, Station K8UNS - Ops N8MR, K8AZT, K8YYZ and KB8CRM


High Score - Out of State Single Operator, Eastern/Central Region

Sponsor: Cherryland Amateur Radio Club

Winner: Paul Newberry, N4PN


High Score - Out of State Single Operator, Mountain/Pacific Region

Sponsor: Southeastern Michigan DX Association

Winner: Larry Lewis, KØRI

* Per the published MiQP Awards Program description: "The MiQP Committee reserves the right to refrain from awarding plaques in instances where there were fewer than three entries within the category."

Even though the Rookie and Mobile Solo Operator plaques were not awarded this year, the MiQP Committee wishes to acknowledge The Super Cub Contesters and the Utica-Shelby Emergency Communications Association for their sponsorship of these plaques.

Back to 2014 MiQP Main Page